Home > Department > English Language/ Literature

English Language/ Literature

ELL


 English Department

We aim to educate our students to be proficient and confident users of the language and to appreciate the language.  Students will develop the ability to respond to a variety of texts and demonstrate a positive attitude towards reading and language, speak fluently and expressively and write coherently and cohesively.  Students will learn to deepen and sharpen their use of English through understanding the features of spoken and written language and strengthening their ability to speak and interact confidently and effectively in tones appropriate to purpose, audience, context and culture; they will also learn to appreciate language through strengthening their skills in general and in critical reading and viewing of rich literary works of prose that provoke thought, judgment and evaluation.  We seek to extend our students’ capacity in the language through their participation in language-related competitions and activities.

 

 

Department Achievements and Highlights

 

Enrichment

1.

Speech / Oral Communication Course

 

This is incorporated into our school curriculum to work on Oral and Effective Communication skills and is conducted at least once a fortnight.  This course helps to prepare all students for their Internal Oral Examination for the year.   
2.

Drama Course

 

As part of the Literature curriculum, Secondary One students attended drama classes in the first semester. These classes sought to develop the students' creativity and expose them to the elements of drama. The students wrote their own scripts and performed in their respective groups.

 

3.

Sec 3 Public Speaking Video Compaign

 

In Semester 1, Secondary 3 students produced campaign videos which explored issues faced by Singaporeans.  These videos also served to persuade the viewers to take action to support a cause. This group public speaking project provided students with a platform to use persuasive language and allowed them to express themselves creatively and confidently through various media. The top 4 groups from the cohort were awarded prizes for their well-produced videos. 

 

Beyond the Curriculum 

 

EN-ELT or Enhanced English Language Teaching Project for Secondary 1s and 2s with MOE
It stands for Enhanced English Language Teaching and is about providing enhanced support in ELT to schools through curriculum partnership with teachers who are engaged in curriculum innovation. This project builds on the existing range of implementation support from the English Language & Literature Branch. Using the existing school-based units of work, the project demonstrates teaching approaches illustrated through exemplar materials which embed AfL [Assessment for Learning] for Reading and Writing delivered through a PLC [Professional Learning Community] platform.

Upcoming department events for the year

 

 1. ICAS or International Competition Assessment for Schools (Writing) by University of New South Wales on 29 June 2016

 

 2. ICAS or International Competition Assessment for Schools (English) by University of New South Wales on 19 July 2016 

 

 3. Sec 1 Drama Enrichment Programme - Jan to Feb 2016

 

Head of Department

Angela Ong

Email

 

lee_yen_ai_angela@moe.edu.sg

 

 

Subject Head (English)

 

Christine Wong

Email

png_thiang_thiang_christine@moe.edu.sg

School Staff Developer

Hoe-Tan Tou Hwa

 

Email

 

tan_tou_hwa@moe.edu.sg

 Year Head (Lower Secondary / Covering Duties)

 

 HOD (Student Development)

 

 

Name of Staff 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anna Goh

Email

goh_anna@moe.edu.sg

Ong Seok Jean

Email

ong_seok_jean@moe.edu.sg

1. Paul Osgodby Email paul_edward_osgodby@moe.edu.sg

 2. Lim Ee Ling

Email

ng_ee_ling@moe.edu.sg

 3. Marina Abu Bakar

Email

marina_abu_bakar@moe.edu.sg

 4. Sangeetha Kriskumar

Email

sangeetha_kriskumar@moe.edu.sg

 5. Lingehswari d/o Eisvran

Email

lingehswari_eisvran@moe.edu.sg

 6. Hafiz Hanafia

Email

muhammad_hafiz_hanafia@moe.edu.sg

 7. Hester Tay

Email

tay_yin_ee_hester@moe.edu.sg

 8. Grace Chong

Email

chong_kim_moi@moe.edu.sg

 9. Charles Wong

Email

wong_wai_kit_charles@moe.edu.sg

 10. Lin Debi

Email

lin_debi@moe.edu.sg

 11. Aishah Malkan

Email

aishah_malkan@moe.edu.sg

 12. Debbie Lim

Email

lim_chin_teng_debbie@moe.edu.sg

 13. Shih Kai Lin

Email

shih_kai_lin@moe.edu.sg

 14. Grace Jayanthi Mohan

Email

grace_jayanthi_mohan@moe.edu.sg

 15. Mark Ephrem Michael                  

Email

mark_ephrem_michael@moe.edu.sg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to top

 

UPDATED ON 19 FEB 2016

Gallery

ELL