Home > Department > Humanities

Humanities

Humanities

 Humanities Department  

In BPGHS, we believe that the Humanities are invaluable to everyone. The Humanities are academic disciplines that offer knowledge as well as analytical techniques which equip students with the foundations of long-term learning. Besides nurturing a passion for the subject, the department also aims to prepare our students for the ever-evolving challenges of today's society and the demands of an increasingly globalised economy. We provide a wide spectrum of activities for them to pursue their interest in the Humanities.

In 2015, the department continued to use inquiry in our lessons and activities. This included fieldwork at Ang Mo Kio Park, East Coast beach, Toa Payoh HDB Hub, Orchard Road, Kampong Glam and various historical sites in Singapore.   

In addition, to stretch students, the department took part in several competitions:

Department achievements and highlights
1. NUS Geography Challenge

 

2. Historical Scene Investigation Challenge 

 

3. W5 Humanities Challenge

 

4. Thinkscape GIC Safehouse Scenario Planning

 

5. Warcraft Card Game

 

6. Lower Secondary Humanities Quiz 

 

7.  Raffles Model United Nations Conference 
Head of Department Adeline Phua

Email

adeline_phua@moe.edu.sg

 

Name of staff
1.

Trina Tay

(Subject Head / History)

 

Email

trina_tay_mei_tee@moe.edu.sg

 

2. Pua Ai Ling Irene Eleora

 

Email

 

pua_ai_ling_irene@moe.edu.sg

 

 

3. Fabien Yong

 

Email

 

yong_hon_zun@moe.edu.sg

 

4. Tan Xue Ling Sherlyn

 

Email

tan_xue_ling_sherlyn@moe.edu.sg

 

5. Malcolm Tan Shih Lung

 

Email

 

malcolm_tan_shih_lung@moe.edu.sg

 

 6.  Grace Jayanthi Mohan

Email

 

grace_jayanthi_mohan@moe.edu.sg

 

 7.  Khoo Yuan Ru Evon 

Email

 

khoo_yuan_ru_evon@moe.edu.sg

 

8. Mark Ephrem 

Email

 

 

mark_ephrem_michael@moe.edu.sg

 

 

 9. Zhuang Erjin

Email

 

zhuang_erjin@moe.edu.sg 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to top

 

 

UPDATED ON 28 OCT 2015

Humanities