Home > Department > Science

Science

Science

 Science Department  
The Science department enables every BPian to be a passionate learner by providing an enriching and engaging student-centric Science curriculum for all levels. Through a wide range of innovative pedagogical approaches, rigorous performance tasks for continuous assessment and quality feedback, the department seeks to instil in students the right ways of learning Science through scientific inquiry. The inquiry-based strategy is supplemented by a variety of enrichment activities and competition platforms to stretch students beyond just syllabus requirements.

Upcoming department events for the year

1. The Bright Ideas Challenge (6 Feb)
2. International Biomedical Quiz (22 Feb) 
3. University of New South Wales (UNSW) International Competitions and Assessments for Schools (ICAS) Science Test for all Sec 1 to 4 (18 Apr)
4. Singapore Junior Chemistry Olympiad (13 May)
5. Singapore Junior Biology Olympiad (26 May)
6. Singapore Junior Physics Olympiad (May)
7. IgnITE Skills Challenge (Apr - May)
8. Teacher-led Workshop on Inquiry Learning Through The 5E Model (for teachers)
9. West Zone Centre of Excellence for Science - Teacher-led Symposium on Alternative Assessment in the teaching of Science (for teachers)
Department Achievements and Highlights

Our students participated in numerous Science competitions in 2016. Some highlights include:

1.

After months of intensive preparation that transcends both the breadth and depth of Science topics, Simon Julian Lauw (304), Rizqullah Rasyiddin (304), Amadeus Aristo Winarto (305) and Jed Koh Jin Keat (305) represented the school in the National Science Challenge 2016 and performed superbly against the top scientific brains from various schools. After numerous rounds of outdoor and studio challenges on national television, the team eventually emerged as Grand Champions of the prestigious competition and did the school proud.

2.

The Singapore Youth Science Fair was organised by the Science Teachers Association of Singapore and Science Centre. Three teams of Sec 2 students had the chance to work on an investigative project and to submit a project report and a video presentation. The team of Ng Chun Rong, Sean Cheng Yishao, Huang Xin Peng and Lim Xiang Ting, Anthea from 204 achieved a Commendation award.

3.

Four teams of Sec 2 students took part in the Creative and Heuristic Applications of Science (CHAOS) competition, organised by the Ministry of Education, where they answered a series of challenging and open-ended questions, needing to utilise higher-order thinking and critical analyses. The teams of Saw Yu Xuan, Ng Jing Han, Sean Cheng Yishao and Ng Chun Rong from 204 and Chin Sze Yuet, Jonathan Ong Chong An, Loh Yun and Ong Yi Lin from 203 both achieved Honorary Mentions in the competition.

4.

Clean Water Challenge 2016 was organised by Singapore Polytechnic. The competition aimed to enhance the awareness of the importance of water and to understand different kinds of water treatment processes. Three Sec 3 students participated in this competition and were required to design and build their own water filtration kit using hallow fibre membrane. They achieved the Merit award for their efforts. 

5.

The school took part in the Science Pursuit 2016, organised by Republic Polytechnic, where students went through a 2-day series of written and hands-on competition in all disciplines of Science. The combined efforts of the students brought the school the positions of overall champion and 1st runner-up.

6.

In the National Environment Quiz 2016 organised by Nan Hua High School, the team of Huang Xinpeng, Ng Jing Han and Claudia Lim from 204 achieved 4th position in the competition.

7.

In the National Environment Quiz 2016 organised by Nan Hua High School, the team of Huang Xinpeng, Ng Jing Han and Claudia Lim from 204 achieved 4th position in the competition.


Other competitions that our students have taken part in for the past few years include:

1. Destination Zero Carbon Competition (Lower Secondary)
2. Sembcorp Water Technology Prize
3. Singapore International Water Festival Greenviron Challenge
4. IgNITE Science Challenge
5. Marine Engineering Quiz
6. Spelling Bee
7. Amazing X Challenge
8. Biotech Fair
9. Eureka – Hovercraft and body parts
10. Go Green Competition
11. National Science Challenge
12. Chemistry Olympiad
13. Singapore Biomedical Olympiad
14. Health Science Olympiad
15. Elementz Competition
16. Food Science Challenge organised by the School of Chemical and Life Sciences of Singapore Polytechnic 
17. Astronomy Competition
18. Science Quiz
19. Crystal Growing Challenge
20. Robotics Competition
Head of Department (covering duties)

Lim Kangyu

Email Address

lim_kangyu@moe.edu.sg

Subject Head

(Physics)

Michelle Yu Sheau Jen

Email Address

yu_sheau_jen@moe.edu.sg

Subject Head

(Biology)

Lee Min Jessie

Email Address

lee_min_jessie@moe.edu.sg

Name of staff

   
1.

Chin Soo Khoon

(Senior Teacher, Physics)
Email Address

chin_soo_khoon@moe.edu.sg

2.

Mathew Lim Soi Lung (Chemistry)

Email Address

mathew_lim@moe.edu.sg

3.

Alina Ahmad Sany (Chemistry)

Email Address

alina_ahmad_sany@moe.edu.sg

4.

Chew Ee Wei (Chemistry)

Email Address

chew_ee_wei@moe.edu.sg

5.

Chiang Ah Choo (Chemistry)

Email Address

chiang_ah_choo@moe.edu.sg

6. Ding Ying Jye (Biology, Chemistry)
Email Address

ding_ying_jye@moe.edu.sg

7.

Melissa Chew (Chemistry)

Email Address

chew_shu_qing_melissa@moe.edu.sg

8.

Lim Jun Sheng (Physics)

Email Address

lim_jun_sheng@moe.edu.sg

9. Tan Huilin (Physics)
Email Address

tan_huilin@moe.edu.sg

10.

Tay Yin Ee Hester (Biology)

Email Address

tay_yin_ee_hester@moe.edu.sg

11.

Ang Hwee Shan Angela (Biology, Chemistry)

Email Address

ang_hwee_shan_angela@moe.edu.sg

12.

Deborah Gian (Chemistry)

Email Address

gian_deborah@moe.edu.sg

13.

Le Nam Chi (Physics)

Email Address

le_nam_chi@moe.edu.sg

 14. Koo Huey Sian (Physics) Email Address koo_huey_sian@moe.edu.sg
 15. Crystal Tay Yen Yen (Biology) Email Address crystal_tay_yen_yen@moe.edu.sg
16.

Vinod Kumar Rajasegaran (Biology, Chemistry)

Email Address

 vinod_kumar_rajasegaran@moe.edu.sg

17.

Shih Kai Lin (Biology)

Email Address

shih_kai_lin@moe.edu.sg

Back to top

 

Last updated on 21 MAR 2017

Science